That was about 10 months ago when me and my mom planned a vacation visit to Dhankuta (Queen of hill) situated at the eastern part of Nepal. Originally my Grandmother home was at Dhankuta and that was since a long time my mom was not able to go there for a visit. As we lived at Hetauda and recently we are migrated to Kathmandu valley for my higher study. My mom used to share her moments she used to pass during her child hood atDhankuta. After all these “once upon a time” like a story, I made a wise decision to take my mom to her land and also to have a memorable holiday visit during the festive vacation. We left from Dharan buspark at 11:00 am towards Dhankuta. The mystical uphill and downhill, the fast blowing cool air, the moving fresh rivers, the country side at Bhedetar Bazaar and the hustling and bustling of the vehicles, all these were the moment to cherish during the micro bus ride. We were around 15 passengers inside the micro bus. We landed at Dhankuta buspark at around 2:00 pm. Moving to the Relatives house, my main aim was to have sleep and take rest as we had not got good sleep during night due to baggage packing and a lot of stuffs. I directly woke up at 6 pm evening after a sound sleep and had a dinner at around 9 pm.

Before to the bed the image shown below was the eye catching view as seen from my bed room. I was about to fold on my blanket as the climate was cold, but this amazing view of moon rise (what I call) made me to catch my tripod and camera and set the frame and shot for photograph. This scene was like moon was rising and moving slowly up and up the hills with high red tone, the twinkling light glowing from the village bulbs made me so fascinating that I could not stop taking the pictures in spite of cold wind blowing throughout my ears. This kind of moon view was truly a new kind of its own for me as I had never seen it before. But after some the moment the process stopped and the view was like normal moon view as I used to see from the windows of my flat room at Kathmandu. But technically I failed to capture the best images and photograph of this moon rise view in my camera. I went for a full sound sleep.

Like a moon rise
Like a moon rise
Village Scene at Night time
Like a moon rise

On the morning I didn’t knew the exact time of sunrise, so I missed some landscape shot. Talking about the best spot and best timing of the sunrise with my relatives I decided my plan to have sunrise shot for next morning.

On the way towards Local market. Space has been used so wisely to create a mini bus stand along side the retaining wall.
On the way towards Local market. Space has been used so wisely to create a mini bus stand along side the retaining wall.

Then after having a cup of a tea, me and my mom walked down to the Dhankuta bazaar to buy some stuffs at local market (bihibare hatiya or a haat bazzar simply).

Local market on thursday at Dhankuta.
Local market on thursday at Dhankuta.

The local market used to run on Thursday. All the farmers from different hill stations and satellite town around the Dhankuta bazaar used to gather at the central spot and sell their products to earn their living. The local shop timing was from 7 am morning which would last for upto 10 am. But in today’s contemporary scenario, the essence of this local market are being forgotten by modern age groups, as the commercialized shops on daily basis her and there everywhere. But the value of buying and selling, the sense of place at the local market junction was something what made me feel to breathe the soul of country side local shops.

The architectural masterpiece building, the timber construction, old fascinating house with balcony, such a bold use of colors at the residence all made to look back again and again toward the building while walking. I used to get stopped and stopped, clicked photos, sometimes I used to get lost, but my mom used to wait for me a long distance away.

One architectural features what I analyzed is that the most of these traditional kind of residence building had a shop at the ground floor. The owner himself used to run the shop or were rented by other people  and they have their first floor as a prime space of private gathering. The slope roof of steel corrugated plates (Jasta pata) were  interesting to watch. 

 

We visited Nisandevi temple and the peigon house nearby. After on we decided to return back to our dwelling space through the highway route to observe the hill station and panoramic view.

 

After three hours when I arrived at relatives home, me and my brother had a short scooty ride towards Hile. The landscape views at hile were amazing.

We enjoyed taking some macro shots. There was a giant sculpture of tongba jar at the junction of Hile bazaar.Tongba jar is simply a vessel to have a kind of local whiskey (wine drink).

44
Tongba Jar sculptor at Hile, Dhankuta

The architectural style of the building were more like carving on the plaster surface. Everywhere I found the detailing of plaster carving. Climate was very cold. Suddenly the sun used to scatter its light and suddenly the cold wind used to play. I loved and enjoyed the climate too much.

To visit day 3 and day 4 click here

